HLTV.org started to uncover their top-20 CS:GO players of the year. The last four spots of the list were taken by Helvijs "broky" Saukants (FaZe Clan), Jonathan "EliGE" Jablonowski (Team Liquid), Robin "ropz" Kool (FaZe Clan) and Russel "Twistzz" Van Dulken (FaZe Clan). The next name will be revealed on January 7 at 20:00 CET. 

Despite being the last in the list, broky's probably really happy about his performance this year, as he got his first-ever placing in the HLTV.org's best players list. The Latvian and his team couldn't score any tournament wins this year, which led to yet another reshuffle for the roster. Team's veteran Olof "olofmeister" Kajbjer got replaced by MOUZ's prodigy ropz. This way the list of 20 best players of the year started with three FaZe Clan members and ELiGE.

This year there's almost no intrigue in terms of who's getting the #1 spot, as NAVI's own Oleksandr "s1mple" Kostyliev had a phenomenal year and basically guaranteed himself the prize. However, it is unclear which of the two brilliant players will get the 2nd place — Mathieu "ZywOo" Herbaut or Nikola "NiKo" Kovač. The whole top-3 list will be revealed on January 22, and CQ-esports will sure cover that for you.

HLTV.org best players of the year:

20. Helvijs "broky" Saukants (FaZe Clan);
19. Jonathan "EliGE" Jablonowski (Team Liquid);
18. Robin "ropz" Kool (FaZe Clan);
17. Russel "Twistzz" Van Dulken (FaZe Clan);
1. TBA.