The European LOL Championship Series (EU LCS) is replaced by the LOL European Championship (LEC) for 2019 and onwards. The European league has joined the likes of LPL and NA LCS in franchising the league, meaning that the promotion and relegation have been removed. All of the teams competing has bought their way in and have been approved by Riot Games as owners.

The European Championship will continue to be broadcasted and played from the studios in Berlin as they have been in the EU LCS. The second season is to start in Juni

Tournament Format

Group Stage:

Double round robin, matches are Best-of-One. 

Top six teams qualify for the Summer Playoffs.


Double elimination bracket with best-of-five series. Top two faces each other in the winners final, the 3rd seed decides which team from the 5th and 6th they will be facing in the lower bracket semifinals, the 4th seed faces the remaining team.

Regional Finals:

Single elimination gauntlet style bracket with the teams seeded in based on their 2019 Season circuit points. The winner moves on to the World Championship as the third seed from Europe.