The Overwatch League (OWL) will be the premier professional esports league for Overwatch, organized by Blizzard Entertainment. The league will be the first truly global professional esports league, and will feature franchised teams based in cities from around the world. Possibly the most ambitious esports project ever announced, the league is a statement from Blizzard about their intentions to have Overwatch compete on the same level as traditional sports, with many influences taken from the North American franchised sports leagues.

All of season one will be based out of Los Angeles, California and Blizzard has additionally required a minimum player salary, a large team monetary investment, a minimum contract length of 1 year for players, as well as several other terms in order to secure the sustainability of the scene as well as player security.

Blizzard has announced that the Overwatch League preseason will be starting on the sixth of December 2017 and it will be featuring all of the 12 teams in exhibition matches ahead of the regular season. The regular season is set to start on the 10th of January 2018 and will conlude on the 16th of June and will be followed by the playoffs from the 11th to the 28th of July.

Tournament Format


Exhibition matches featuring the teams of the upcoming season in four match sets.

Regular Season

The regular season is a round robin format group stage split into four stages however all the points scored in the round robin combined throughout all of the stages will count towards the final standings of the season.

Each stage has a final where the top 3 teams will play for the lions share of $125,000.

All series in the regular season are 4 match sets.

6 teams move on to the playoffs.


6 teams move on to the playoffs.


The season playoffs consist of a single elimination bracket. The rounds consist of Best-of-Three series (A max of three series played) that are all Best-of-Five.